Chalimbana University

Session Dates

OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR

SENATE APPROVED SESSIONAL DATES FOR 2019/2020 ACADEMIC YEAR

 

 

TERM I

 Sunday 8thSeptember, 2019

 

Arrival of First Year and Returning Full-Time Students

 

Monday 9thSeptember, 2019 to
Friday 13thSeptember, 2019

 

Orientation of First Year Students and Registration of
Returning Students

Monday 16th September, 2019

 

Commencement of classes for All Full-Time students

Saturday 5th October, 2019

 

World Teachers’ Day

Friday 18th October, 2019

 

National Prayer Day

Thursday 24thOctober, 2019

 

Independence Day

Friday 8th November, 2019

 

Graduation Ceremony

Sunday 1st December,2019

 

World AIDS Day

Friday 6th December, 2019

 

End of 1st Term for Full-Time Students

Saturday7thDecember, 2019 to Saturday 11th January, 2020

 

Residentials and Examinations for Distance Education Students in various Centres

Wednesday25thDecember, 2019

 

Christmas Day 

Thursday 26th December, 2019

 

Holiday, following Christmas Day

Wednesday 1st January, 2020

 

New Year’s Day

Thursday 2nd January, 2020

 

Holiday following New Year’s Day

 

TERM II

Sunday 12th January 2020

Return of full-time Students

Monday 13th January 2020

Resumption of classes for full-time students

Monday 13th January 2020 to Thursday April 9th April 2020

13 Weeks of School Experience for various teaching programmes

Friday 24th January 2020

Submission of Results to the Examinations Committee by Schools

Saturday 4th March 2020 to Thursday  12th March 2020

Examinations for Distance Students: Primary diploma, Lab Technicians,
Early Childhood Education Degree, Business Studies, ELM, BED - Primary and BED - Secondary

 

Sunday  8th March 2020

International Women’s Day

Monday 9th March 2020

Celebrations of International Women’s Day

Thursday 12th March 2020

 Youth Day

Thursday 9th March 2020

Submission of Results to the Examinations Committee by Schools

Thursday  9th April 2020

End of Term 2 for Full-Time Students

Thursday 9th April 2020

End of 13 Weeks of School Experience for various teaching programmes

Friday 10th April, 2020

Good Friday

Saturday 11th April 2020

Holy Saturday

Sunday 12th April 2020

Easter Sunday

Monday 13th April 2020

Easter Monday

Sunday 12th April, 2020 to Friday 8th May 2020

Residentials and Examinations for Distance Education Students in
various Centres

Friday 1st May, 2020

Labour Day

 

TERM III

Sunday 10th May 2020

Arrival of All Full-Time Students

Monday 11th May 2020

Resumption of Classes for All Full-Time Students

Friday 22nd May 2020

Submission of All Distance Education Results to the
Examinations Committee by Schools

Monday 25th May 2020

 Africa Freedom Day

Wednesday 12th June 2020

Meeting of Senate Curriculum Review Committee and
Board of Examinations

Wednesday 17th June, 2020

Publication of Results for Distance Education Students

 

Monday 22nd June, 2020 to Friday 26th June, 2020

Examination Results Appeals

Monday 6th July 2020

 Heroes’ Day

Tuesday 7th July 2020

Unity Day

Friday 10th July 2020 to Friday 17th July 2020

Study Break for Full-Time Students

Monday 20th July 2020 to Friday 7th August 2020

Final Examinations for All Full-Time Students 

Monday 3rd August, 2020

Farmers Day

Friday 7th August 2020

End of Term III for Full-Time Students

Saturday 8th August 2020 to Friday 4th September 2020

Residential and Examinations For Distance Education Students In
Various Centres