Chalimbana University



The School of Mathematics and Science Education as provided for under the organizational structure of Chalimbana University. It responds to National Science and Technology Council (NSTC), a statutory body through which the Government of the republic of Zambia directs policy on the development and application of science and technology in the country. The statutory instrument was established by the Science and Technology Act No. 26 of 1997. The Seventh National Development plan (2017) report that Zambia despite being endowed with mineral resources, wildlife, rivers, good soil, flora and fauna, yet is characterized by low industrialization, low beneficiation from the rich natural resources, weak diversification and the high levels of poverty. Therefore, the creation of the School of Mathematics and Science Education at Chalimbana University will help harness these potentials.


The School of Mathematics and Science Education endeavors to:

  1. Training mathematics and science teachers to meet the demand at primary, junior and senior secondary school levels. Mathematics and science teachers are in high demand due national shortage of qualified teachers within these fields. 
  2. Train skilled professional personnel in various fields such as Agriculture and other related fields.
  3. Train laboratory technicians to provide technical support in school laboratories and industry so as to improve efficiency and results. So far most schools either have no laboratory technicians or have untrained personnel


Currently the school has five departments, namely:

  1. Department of Mathematics
  2. Department of Biological Sciences
  3. Department of Chemistry
  4. Department of Physics
  5. Department of Agricultural Science

Programs Offered

The school is currently offering the following programs:

  1. Bachelor of Science with Education
  2. Bachelor of Agriculture Science with Education
  3. Bachelor of Art in Mathematics with Education
  4. Bachelor of Agriculture General [Extension Officers]
  5. Bachelor of Agriculture Science [Crop, Animal, Aquaculture etc.]
  6. Bachelor of Science [Statistics and Applied Mathematics]
  7. Bachelor of Science [Chemistry, Biology and Physics]
  8. Diploma in Laboratory Technician
  9. Diploma in Agriculture General [Extension Officers]

The school is currently collaborating with the School of Education in offering content (4000 students) in mathematics and integrated science for primary school trainee teachers, and physics, biology, chemistry and mathematics to secondary school trainee teachers. The school has plans of offering other independent programs of study and the following are some of the proposed programs

Duration of Programmes

Except for Diploma in Laboratory Technician which runs for three (3) years, the rest of the Degree programmes are four (4) years for school leavers. However, In-Service teachers with secondary teachers Diplomas from recognized institutions and would like to continue with the same subjects start their studies in year two (2). Those with Certificates, Primary Diploma or secondary Diploma but divert from the original subject combinations do four (4) years

Entry requirements

Five (5) ‘O’ levels with preferably credits or better in area of specialization

Staff by Department

Mathematics Department

  1. Mulenga George
  2. Chingi Samuel
  3. Kangwa Lemmy
  4. Nyirenda Hellen
  5. Mwila Ernest

Biology Department

  1. Makwelele Geofrey

Physics Department

  1. Katakwe Alex

Agriculture Science Department

  1. Mutale Chibesa
  2. Soko Josphat
  3. Ndhlovu William

Chemistry Department

  1. Mwale James
  2. Chikwanda Richard